Oh, FU 360! FU! Update #4

Xbox 360 LogoSorry for the lack of updates as of late. Nine days is a lot to go, but I’ve been working the wonkiest schedule EVER (mornings, evenings, and midnights, all in the same work week) and it’s really screwed up any sleeping schedule I might have had. That, and the Halo 3 release didn’t help any.

So, needless to say, my original XBox is back. Or rather, a replacement thereof.

If you’d like to catch up on what’s happened so far:

Aug 17: The thing dies
Aug 27: I finally call it in and learn a few things
Sep 06: I get my coffin, send it back, and start the blame game
Sep 13: I check the site 2 days after supposed arrival for a surprise.

Now let’s pick up where I left off.

Soon after that incident, the XBox Service site went offline for maintenance. When it came back up, I no longer had any devices registered to me! Boo! I wish I could remember dates, but thanks to e-mail, I do know that I received a letter from Microsoft on the 17th that they had received my XBox for repair — with no serial number. It doesn’t matter what the “temporary” serial number was, though, because it was completely different from the serial number on the XBox 360 I got.

I went to the service site again, and still no number. Thankfully, I was able to register this 360 without problem. [important update] No wait, that’s a lie. After I wrote this, I noticed my warranty expires in only 9 months. My first call to XBox customer service ended with, “we carry over your warranty from the original console.” Which made sense on its face, but mere minutes later I realized that if that were true I’d still be out of my hardware warranty. With my second call, I was able to contest the warranty and get it bumped up to the full year. Word to the wise — check the warranty on your replacement console at service.xbox.com! [/update]

This whole ordeal was very strange. I don’t know what was up with the “temporary” serial number given to me for a few days. Was [0’s]16[n’s]9999 an internal status code? Don’t know. In any case, giving me no serial number was worse because that left me completely in the dark. I can see the “no serial number thing” from the point of view that, if they put my new hardware in the system for me under my name my warranty would start before the 360 left the warehouse. My only reply to that is, “Boo! Adapt the service system so you can have hardware assigned to people with inactive warranties that are activated when UPS says the hardware has been delivered!” Because, let’s face it, Microsoft probably has it set up so they know where every piece of warrantable hardware is at any time, so it’s not like the serial number isn’t in the system already. In fact, given my situation I’d make it mandatory that retailers check serial numbers in before accepting returns, and contract them to mark used hardware as such with appropriate disclaimers and discounts. Would I have accepted $20 off for a system that was probably used for 3 months? At the time, hell no — that was 25% of the warranty gone. Even now with a 3-year warranty, that’s 8% of the warranty gone, and I would have demanded at least $30 off or no dice.

And of course, we can’t leave without the blame game graph:

BWT Blame Game Bar Graph – Chronological
Me
10
MS
3
UPS
6
!
1
UPS
5
MS
14
UPS
3
BWT Blame Game Bar Graph – By Guilty Party
Me
11
UPS
14
MS
17